Upgrade Your Karma

For today’s Karma Upgrade, I am going to take a cue from Matthew:

For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me. Matthew 25:35-36 

I really like this passage because of the simplicity in the concept: I needed something and you selflessly provided it for me. I thought it would be a great way to bring back the Karma Upgrade posts by providing multiple charities that need something of which you could selflessly provide for them.

For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat:

Feeding America

You know all those canned goods you donate to various food banks during the holidays? Well, they need that shit now, too. No desire to send in cans because of the postage? You can donate cash to them on their website.

I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink:

Water.org

If I have to tell you why access to clean drinking water is important for humans, you will not be my partner for Trivial Pursuit. Water.org was co-founded by Matt Damon, the brains behind Good Will Hunting and Ben Affleck.

I was a stranger and you invited me in:

House of Ruth

Yes, Habitat for Humanity is the obvious choice for this line of scripture but let’s shake things up a little. House of Ruth provides various services, including transitional housing for battered women and children.

I needed clothes and you clothed me:

Dress for Success

I have been a stay at home mom for two years now so please tell me: what are the kids wearing to work nowadays? Dress for Success not only helps disadvantaged women enter or return to the workforce by providing clothes, it also helps women prepare for interviews and provides them with tools to develop their careers.

I was sick and you looked after me:

San Francisco AIDS Foundation

You know how freaked out people were when HIV/AIDS first started showing up in the news? Well, the San Francisco AIDS Foundation’s answer to the panic was basically “Shut up and listen! We are here to help.” Since 1982, they have been helping advocate for HIV/AIDS patients as well as educating the public on issues such as the importance of testing and not panicking.

I was in prison and you came to visit me:

Fortune Society

If the TV show Orange is the New Black has taught me anything, it’s two things: Prison would make me its bitch in about an hour and a half and it must suck royal jelly donuts to be in jail. The Fortune Society helps people transition from incarceration to life outside of the prison system.

(Disclaimer: Research an organization before donating to them. I am not going to do all the work for ya.)

Leave a Reply

